How words connect with feelings?

I was surfing the web and noticed a post about certain feelings that cannot be expressed in the proper way. You truly feel them, you are thinking about them, but are afraid not to be able to express. Checking the list I found out several of them that are occurring to me very frequently and that may be an interesting topic for you, my reader.

One of these feelings is sonder…

I feel it especially in metros, you know, because there is this special movie like atmosphere and the light is so vivid, that all the passengers are becoming special characters with special life stories.
So what is sonder?

Sonder: The realization that each passerby has a life as vivid and complex as your own.

metro

Days ago, when being on my Tbilisi trip, after climbing up the Narikala fortress, after passing by Rustaveli avenue, after absorbing the fresh air of the city, I’ve decided to take the Tbilisi metro.

And yeees, there came this feeling…even more dense….even more strange and forcefully making me to watch in the eyes of these characters, to watch their life movies through their eyes and I remembered the other difficultly explainable feeling: the Opia, the ambiguous intensity of looking someone in the eye, which can feel simultaneously invasive and vulnerable.

eyes

And I thought, it’s so strange, in your city, there are thousands of strangers that pass by, you are curious about their lives too, but in another city, in another country, this curiosity is being multiplied like hundreds of times…

It would be great to know, whether this happens only to me or you have it too…. share with me about your stories hm?

p.s. Here is a link, where you can check for other strange feelings like sonder and opia.

Leave a Reply

