Life out of your comfort zone

Tbilisi is always described as a multicultural city, where people loving to live out of stereotypes come to find their path.
Here you can see hippies and metallists chilling together, Americans and Russians talking about politics, Armenians and Azerbaijani discussing cultural similarities etc.etc.
This happens here everyday, in pubs, on streets…but what is it like to come to stay here for study purposes? What a student life in Tbilisi feels like… What it feels like, when you promote this tendency of abroad studies in this very little, but rich cultural area called Caucasus.
So, in searches of answers I have asked two guys: from Armenia and from Azerbaijan, to respond to several questions about why and how is it to be a student in Caucasus, but not in your city.

IlkinIlkin Hasanov | Azerbaijan

  1. Did you start studying in your country?

Yes, I started and finished my bachelor degree in my country.

  1. What profession did you choose?

I have chosen Ecology and Soil Science

  1. Why have you decided to continue studies abroad?

I have had special interest in studying abroad and found a suitable granted program in Georgia.

  1. Why specifically you choose Georgia?

Georgia is not specially chosen, just program was held here.

  1. In which Georgian University you study now?

Now I am studying at Georgian Institute of Public Affairs (GIPA)

  1. What do you like most in leaving home and going to study abroad?

Probably the most important thing that I like is to be around different people, who come from different places and have different cultures. This way I feel myself a part of international community.

  1. What’s your favorite place in Tbilisi?

My favorite place in Tbilisi “Mtasminda Park”, where is fresh and green and there are lots of people relaxing and you have this perfect spot, from where you can see the whole city of Tbilisi from above.

  1. Do you plan to stay in Tbilisi after you finish?

Actually I don’t know yet, but if I had a chance to stay why not 😉

9.  If yes: what do you want to do there?

I am a journalist and environmentalist want to continue and to find job with this profession.

  1. If no: where you want to go and what to do?

Still don’t know but if I leave Tbilisi. I will probably go to Azerbaijan or Turkey.

Hayk

Hayk Amirkhanyan | Armenia

  1. Did you start studying in your country?

Yes I started my bachelor in Armenia. Now I do my Master’s degree in Georgia.

  1. What profession did you choose?

Economics

  1. Why have you decided to continue studies abroad?

I had to choose between an Armenian university and an international one which is in Tbilisi, Georgia.

  1. Why specifically you choose Georgia?

There was not a certain reason. I applied to some international Universities and ISET happened to be more supportive for Regional students. So, then I had to choose Armenia or ISET. But it has advantages: Georgia is close to Armenia and I grab the chance every time to be back home and refresh.

  1. In which Georgian University you study now?

ISET – International School of Economics

  1. What do you like most in leaving home and going to study abroad?

I like that I can be independent of everything, to be on my own. I also like the idea that I will have more opportunities after finishing ISET, because the whole program is in English and one becomes a part of a huge powerful network – ISET family.

  1. What’s your favorite place in Tbilisi?

There are two of them: ISET building and the apartment I live in there. It’s because I spend most of my time in these two places. I also like walking through Rustaveli Ave. Spend time in Mtatsminda park. I like it that there are so many old streets in Tbilisi, that keep up the historical spirit of the city. I like showing Tbilisi, with it’s streets to my friends who come to visit.

  1. Do you plan to stay in Tbilisi after you finish?

Don’t think so.

9.  If yes: what do you want to do there?

  1. If no: where you want to go and what to do?

As I’ll have more opportunities when I graduate I plan to pursue a PhD degree in one of the top ranked international universities.

What else to add? Simply nice to feel that this part of the world has this multicultural, social, educational way of being and people are finding opportunities here as well. )))

Leave a Reply

